Tennessee HVAC License: Everything You Need to Know
Getting a Tennessee HVAC license provides an opportunity for career advancement. Technicians enjoy fair wages and job flexibility.
Applying for a license requires a significant investment. However, it is worth the effort. This guide contains everything you need to know to get started.
Do You Need a License in Tennessee to Become an HVAC Technician?
Tennessee requires HVAC/refrigeration technicians and contractors to have a valid license to perform HVAC work on commercial and residential properties.
What Are the Different Types of HVAC Licenses?
The HVAC/Refrigeration contractor license is available in Tennessee. Applicants must take two examinations to qualify for this license.
Tennessee HVAC/Refrigeration contractors
perform maintenance and install a variety of equipment, including ventilation, air conditioning, refrigeration, heating, geothermal HVAC equipment, and gas piping. Applicants must:
Pass the official Tennessee HVAC/Refrigeration exam and the Business/Law exam.
Provide financial statements to the licensing board.
Carry workers’ compensation insurance, if hiring employees.
Have experience working as an HVAC apprentice.
Be at least 18 years old with a high school diploma or GED.
Possess general liability insurance up to $1,000,000.
HVAC contractors maintain, install, and repair heating and air conditioning systems for businesses and residential properties. Refrigeration contractors repair, troubleshoot, and install equipment, such as beverage dispensers, refrigerated storage units, and ice machines.
In Tennessee, contractors who hold an HVAC/Refrigeration contractor license are authorized to perform work on heating/air conditioning units and refrigeration units.
HVAC/Refrigeration contractor licenses are issued by the
Benefits of Getting an HVAC License
HVAC/Refrigeration technicians have a high job satisfaction rate. They solve problems and build customer relationships.
The HVAC industry is expected to grow by 14% in the next decade. This growth provides an added level of job security.
HVAC technicians are physically active. This increased level of activity reduces the risk of obesity and certain conditions, such as heart disease and high blood pressure.
HVAC apprentices earn money while they learn the trade. Other job benefits that apprentices receive are health insurance, vacation pay, and personal leave.
Complete your HVAC/Refrigeration courses quickly. In less than a year, you can take your examinations and get your Tennessee HVAC license.
The HVAC industry is experiencing a shortage of skilled HVAC technicians. There’s plenty of employment options with companies, small businesses, non-profit organizations, and school systems.
How Much Does It Cost to Get an HVAC License in Tennessee?
The fee for the HVAC/Refrigeration contractor license in Tennessee is $50.
How to Get an HVAC License in Tennessee
Apply for a Tennessee HVAC/Refrigeration program. Work under a licensed HVAC/Refrigeration technician. Then, complete the program and apply for your HVAC/Refrigeration license. You’ll receive your license after you pass the two exams.
Tennessee HVAC Training Programs and Schools
Types of HVAC Classes
Basic Electricity for HVAC
Air Conditioning Control Principles
Gas and Electric Heating
HVAC Systems Design
Energy Management and Green Building Design
Power and Resistance
Program Tuition Costs:
Tuition for Tennessee HVAC trade schools and community college programs vary. Expect to pay up to $250 per credit hour for your Tennessee HVAC certification courses. Online course options are available. The classroom offers hands-on HVAC experiences that will help you pass your test.
HVAC Program Prerequisites
Possess a Tennessee driver's license or ID card.
Have a high school diploma or a GED.
Take a general aptitude placement test.
Be at least 18 years old.
Be physically capable of performing HVAC work.
Learn Tennessee HVAC codes.
Perform HVAC and refrigeration work according to safety regulations.
Install HVAC systems using blueprints.
Perform math calculations on a variety of HVAC and refrigeration jobs.
Maintain and install HVAC and refrigeration systems under the direction of a licensed HVAC/Refrigeration contractor.
Work at least 40 hours per week.
Tennessee Licensing Exams Details
The fee is $57 per exam.
Passing score for both exams is 73%.
The exam has 100 questions (260-minute time limit).
Exams are administered by
How to study for HVAC exams:
Find a study partner or group. Read HVAC test preparation material. Hire a HVAC exam preparation tutor. Take practice exams. Ask questions in class to ensure that you understand the content. View HVAC installation and repair videos on YouTube.
HVAC license renewal:
Renew your Tennessee HVAC/Refrigeration license every year. The license renewal fee is $75. Allow up to 60 days to receive your Tennessee HVAC license.
Once you’re licensed and
, you’ll need to get invoicing and estimating software that keeps track of work orders and convert estimates into one-off jobs or recurring services. We make converting estimates into jobs and recurring services easy for your HVAC business.