New Jersey HVAC license:
Everything you need to know
HVAC contractors and technicians are in high demand across the country. You can begin your career working for an employer, or you can start your own business after you gain experience.
In this guide, learn how to earn your New Jersey HVAC license.
Do you need a license in New Jersey to become an HVAC technician?
Yes, you must obtain a New Jersey HVAC license.
What are the different types of HVAC licenses?
There is one type of license: a master HVAC contractor license. This license allows you to work on heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration. You also can work as a contractor of your own business. The average salary for an HVAC technicians is just under $74,000 in New Jersey.
Benefits of getting an HVAC license
The compensation is one of the main benefits of a New Jersey HVAC license. You can command a higher pay rate for specific jobs. You also can build trust with potential clients who are seeking licensed HVAC technicians. Because of the flexibility, you can work in the HVAC industry in many different ways.
How much does it cost to get an HVAC license in New Jersey?
Along with the $100 application fee, you will need to show proof of liability insurance with a $3,000 guarantor bond. This bond is guarantees you will operate your HVAC contractor business in compliance with state rules and regulations.
How to get an HVAC license in New Jersey
Enroll in an Alabama HVAC apprentice program. After you have completed the program, you are eligible to sit for the HVAC contractor and refrigeration contractor examinations.
While it’s possible to get an associate’s degree in HVAC from a trade school or technical college, you are still required to obtain several years of experience to qualify for a license. The best way to qualify is to complete a four-year bachelor’s degree in HVAC or a related field. The requirements for these programs depend on the school you attend. You might need a set of tools for any necessary hands-on technical training. Four-year programs will cover both commercial and residential HVAC services.
The top colleges and universities in New Jersey with either HVAC or mechanical engineering degrees include Stevens Institute of Technology, Princeton University, Rutgers, New Jersey Institute of Technology, and Rowan University. Tuition can range from $10,000-$45,000 per year. These colleges offer financial aid.
If the bachelor’s degree you obtain is closely related to the HVAC field, you must gain three years of work experience. If you’ve completed a vocational training program, only two years of experience are required.
To gain the required experience, you can obtain an entry-level position or an apprenticeship. A full apprenticeship takes about five years to complete and will gain you 1,700-2,000 hours of experience.
If you work in another state as a journeyman HVAC technician, five years of experience will qualify you for a license.
Who actually issues the licenses?
An HVAC contractor license is issued by the New Jersey State Board of Examiners of Heating, Ventilating, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors.
Are there exams?
The master HVAC contractor license application can be found on the state board’s website. It must be completed and sent online with a fee of $100. Upon approval, you will be informed about taking the master HVAC exam.
There are two components to the HVAC license exam: a trade test and a business/law test. For the trade examination, you will need to answer 50 questions in 130 minutes. To pass, you must answer at least 35 of these questions correctly. You will be tested on everything from ducts and ventilation to heating and cooling principles.
For the business and law examination, you will need to answer 50 questions in 130 minutes. To pass, you must answer at least 35 of these questions correctly. The main subjects covered in this exam include:
- Estimating and bidding
- Business organization
- Risk management
- Project management
- Contract law
- Tax law
- Lien law
The college or vocational program will provide you with everything you need to study for these HVAC license exams. If you want to prepare for the exams, you can take some practice tests here for free.
Do the licenses need to be renewed?
All master HVAC contractor licenses expire on June 30th during even-numbered years. You will be sent a reminder to renew your license 60 days before the license expires. You must complete a total of five credits of continuing education every two years. The renewal fee for this license is $160.
How long does it take to get an HVAC license?
The entire process will take you about five years to qualify for a license. Once you’ve applied, it can take about a month to approve your application. Upon approval, you should receive your license within 15-20 days.
Types of HVAC classes
Program tuition costs: Tuition for HVAC trade schools varies. Expect to pay between $4,000 and $10,000 to complete your HVAC certification courses. Since HVAC is a hands-on profession, courses are offered in a classroom setting.
How to study for HVAC exams: Participate in a study group. Participate in hands-on projects at your HVAC apprentice job. Take HVAC practice exams under timed conditions. Study your class notes. Watch HVAC installation and repair videos.
Update your HVAC technician resume and apply for your dream job
An HVAC technician resume template helps technicians demonstrate their HVAC skills to employers. The resume should highlight your work experience and education along with any relevant certifications. Using this template will help you provide employers with all the necessary information to land a job in the HVAC industry. Download our HVAC technician resume today.