PEST CONTROL LICENSING
Kansas pest control license:
everything you need to know
The pest control industry has plenty of career opportunities for people who have Kansas pest control licenses. Jobs include pest control specialists, company branch managers, and company regional managers.
If you are looking for an exciting career, apply for your license. This Kansas guide provides everything you need to know to get started in the industry.
Does Kansas require a pest control license?
Kansas requires all pest control technicians to be licensed to use pesticides on residential and commercial properties.
Are there different types of licenses for Kansas?
Kansas pest control applicator license categories are:
- Commercial pesticide applicator license
- Private pesticide applicator license
- Registered technician license
Commercial pesticide applicator licensees are authorized to work as employees of companies that are licensed to apply pesticides. The fee for the commercial pesticide applicator license in Kansas is $45.
Private pesticide applicator licensees are authorized to apply pesticides or supervise the application of pesticides on property that produces agricultural commodities. The fee for the private pesticide applicator license is $45.
Registered technician licensees are authorized to apply restricted-use pesticides under the supervision of a licensed commercial pesticide applicator. The fee for the registered technician license is $40 per technician. Businesses generally pay this fee on behalf of employees. Registered technician licensees must:
- Be trained within 90 days of employment
- Have at least 10 hours of classroom training
- Have at least 30 hours of on-the-job training
Kansas pest control license board:
Kansas licenses are administered by the Kansas Department of Agriculture.The average yearly pay for Kansas pest control technicians is approximately $34,000.
How do I become licensed for pest control in Kansas?
You must apply for a registered technician license. To get approved for this license, find a pest control technician job and work under the direction of a licensed applicator. Employers provide classroom and on-the-job training for their employees.
Kansas examination and training programs:
Kansas training course costs:
Expect to pay between $50 and $200 per course.
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent
- Be at least 18 years old
- Possess a valid Kansas driver’s license
- Be employed as a pest control technician
- Spray chemical powders, gases, and solutions to get rid of pests in residential and commercial areas.
- Set mechanical traps for pests
- Measure area dimensions and create cost estimates for services
- Remove blockages from infested areas
- Fumigate infested areas
Licensing board Information:
Apply for your license online with the Kansas Department of Agriculture.
Kansas license examination requirements:
To sit for the examination, you must complete a pest control license training program. You must have at least 10 hours of classroom training and 30 hours of on-the-job training.
Kansas license examination categories include:
- Laws and regulations
- Environmental protection
- Pesticide formulations and labels
How to use your pest control license to get a job
Open the door to new opportunities to get a job in the pest control industry. If you currently have a pest control license, use your license to become a manager. If you are looking for an entry-level job, apply the following tips to your job search:
Top job recruiting websites
The hourly Kansas pest control technician pay rate is $17.45.
Kansas pest control technician job interview tips:
- Carefully read the job description before you apply for the job
- Practice your interviewing skills with a friend
- Possess a positive demeanor and outlook
- Answer questions in a clear and concise manner
Pest control industry trends
Trends that have contributed to growth in the pest control industry:
- Cities attract rodents and other pests
- Pests are resistant to over-the-counter chemicals
- Companies use automated billing and online scheduling
- Companies attend trade shows and meetings to remain relevant
Dangers of being a pest control technician
Kansas pest control technician job hazards:
- Diseased rodents
- Harmful chemicals
- Slippery surfaces
- Aggressive pests
- Climbing on ladders
Occupational safety tips:
- Keep pesticides away from fire
- Start a safety committee at your company
- Never handle chemicals without rubber gloves
- Wear safety glasses or goggles
Is my pest control license only valid in Kansas?
Kansas offers reciprocity agreements with the following states:
How often do I need to renew my pest control license in Kansas?
Renew your Kansas pest control license every year. License renewal fees range from $50 to $200.
Keep up with the latest trends in the home services industries
Housecall Pro offers a monthly newsletter complete with tips and advice on how to manage your home service business. Sign up today and get more content like this as well as access to free ebooks, guides, and webinars.