Utah HVAC license:
Everything you need to know
Do you want a stable career as an HVAC professional or run your own HVAC business? Utah is a great place to live and work in the HVAC field.
This Utah HVAC license guide will share all the details about the training requirements. Explore new opportunities to get started today.
Do you need a license in Utah to become an HVAC technician?
Anyone who wants to work as an HVAC technician in Utah without a supervisor will need a license issued by the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing. The Utah HVAC license is a contractor’s license that specializes in the heating and cooling trades.
What are the different types of HVAC licenses?
HVAC contractor licenses
A Utah contractor license allows you to repair, service, and install a variety of HVAC units without requiring supervision. With a Utah HVAC license, you can earn a salary of up to $79,000. Individuals working in urban areas or with larger units may command a slightly higher salary.
There are five different subcategories that Utah HVAC technicians can choose from:
Most technicians operate with the standard HVAC license, but some individuals specialize in niche areas, like commercial food cooling or industrial heating.
A North American Technical Excellence certification is an optional HVAC license Utah technicians can earn. The NATE license proves that a technician has undergone additional training and knows common types of HVAC units. This certification provides a wage of $30 to $36 per hour.
Utah also requires all HVAC technicians to have an EPA certification. The Section 608 certification from the EPA certifies that a technician is capable of safely working with units containing refrigerants.
Benefits of Getting an HVAC License
An HVAC license in Utah gives you freedom. Instead of reporting to a supervisor, you can pick your own schedule, negotiate payments on your own, and choose your jobs. You can start your own business. Getting a Utah contractor’s license prepares you to become a small business owner because you’re required to enroll in law and business classes.
How much does it cost to get an HVAC license in Utah?
Your costs vary depending the license.. The main fee of $200 covers your application for a contractor’s license, and you can choose to pay $100 more and apply for a license in an additional subclass. Then, you must pay a $110 fee for the HVAC exam, and a $79 fee for a business and law exam. Costs can total up to $500 for your Utah HVAC license.
Additional expenses for your HVAC license include the workers’ compensation and liability insurance. This costs change based on your business and number of employees.
How to get an HVAC license in Utah
Schooling is not required for a Utah HVAC license. The main requirement is possessing four years of HVAC experience over a ten-year period. You can work with any licensed HVAC contractor to get this experience, or you can attend a school like the Utah Contractor License Center where you can enroll in courses.
After you gain experience, you can apply with the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing. This application requires proof of your experience, proof of your financial responsibility, proof of liability and workers’ compensation insurance, and proof of registration with the Utah Division of Corporations. After your initial application is approved, the department will schedule your exams.
The HVAC exam is a three-hour exam with 75 questions. You must answer at least 53 of the questions correctly. You can take copies of the International Mechanical Code and the ACCA’s HVAC manuals into the exam with you, so you do not have to remember all HVAC codes on your own. You also are required to take a business and law exam. This test is a two hour, open-book exam with 60 questions. You can study on your own or take an online course to prepare for the exam.
Once you pass both exams and get your application accepted, you will have an HVAC license. You will renew your license every two years. All Utah HVAC licenses expire on July 31st in odd numbered years. Renewal requires six hours of education courses and a small fee
Update your HVAC technician resume and apply for your dream job
An HVAC technician resume template helps technicians demonstrate their HVAC skills to employers. The resume should highlight your work experience and education along with any relevant certifications. Using this template will help you provide employers with all the necessary information to land a job in the HVAC industry. Download our HVAC technician resume today.