Connecticut HVAC license:
Everything you need to know

A career in the HVAC field can provide job seekers with secure livelihood. Many career paths can lead you to the HVAC industry.

This guide covers everything you need to know to get your Connecticut HVAC license.

Do you need a license in Connecticut to become an HVAC technician?

Yes, you need a Connecticut HVAC license to perform work as an HVAC technician. The state’s Department of Consumer Protection issue the license.

What are the different types of HVAC licenses?

There are three types of Connecticut HVAC licenses: Apprentice, Journeyperson, and Contractor. Both the Journeyperson and Contractor licenses include ten separate specialty licenses.


Apprentice HVAC technicians enroll in a 4-year course, beginning with an S-2 qualification. The course is 720 hours of instruction and 8,000 hours of on-the-job training.

You must obtain a permit from the Connecticut DCP and register with the Connecticut Office of Apprenticeship Training. Apprentices can work only under the supervision of a licensed contractor or journeyperson.

The average salary for an apprentice HVAC technician in Connecticut is 31,966.


To reach journeyperson status, an applicant must first complete a registered apprenticeship program and then pass a licensing exam. A journeyperson can only work under a licensed HVAC contractor. A journeyperson can obtain two types of licenses:

  • Limited: Allows the licensee to work in a specific area of the industry
  • Unlimited: Allows the licensee to work in any area of the trade.

The average salary for an HVAC Journeyman in Connecticut is $58,500.

Specialty licenses available for Connecticut HVAC Journeypersons are as follows:

  • S-2 Unlimited Heating, Piping, and Cooling Journeyperson
  • S-4 Limited Heating, Cooling, and Piping Journeyperson
  • S-6 Limited Heating, Hot Water, and Steam Journeyperson
  • S-8 Limited Journeyperson
  • S-10 Limited Heating Cooling Journeyperson
  • B-2 Limited Gas and Oil Burner Journeyperson
  • B-4 Limited Gas and Oil Burner Journeyperson
  • D-2 Limited Warm Air, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Journeyperson
  • D-4 Limited Cooling Journeyperson
  • G-2 Limited Heating, Piping, and Cooling Journeyperson

Information detailing the scopes of work and requirements for each of these licenses is maintained by the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection.


To become a contractor, a person must have worked for two years as an HVAC Journeyperson. As a licensed contractor, the HVAC technician can offer his or her services to the general public and employ journeypersons as well as apprentices. Services offered may include the installation, repair, and maintenance of heating, piping, cooling, and sheet metal systems.

In Connecticut, there are two official contractor licenses: Limited and Unlimited. A Limited license allows the contractor to work in a specific area of the trade, while and Unlimited license allows the contractor to operate in any area of HVAC. A contractor must pass a trade exam as well as a business and law exam.

The average salary for an HVAC Contractor in Connecticut is $72,420.

Specialty Licenses in the state of Connecticut for Contractors are as follows:

  • S-1 Unlimited Heating, Piping, and Cooling Contractor
  • S-3 Limited Heating, Cooling and Piping Contractor
  • S-5 Limited Heating, Hot Water, and Steam Contractor
  • S-7 Limited Contractor
  • S-9 Limited Heating Cooling Contractor
  • B-1 Limited Gas and Oil Burner Contractor
  • B-3 Limited Gas and Oil Burner Contractor
  • D-1 Limited Warm Air, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Contractor
  • D-3 Limited Cooling Contractor
  • G-1 Limited Heating, Piping, and Cooling Contractor

Benefits of getting a Connecticut HVAC license

Obtaining advanced certification in the HVAC industry will give you room to further your career, increase your earnings, and develop your skills. Apprentice HVAC technicians can land a job and start earning money after only a few months, and they can grow their expertise while they work toward more advanced licenses.

Working in the HVAC industry also will give you the opportunity to stay active. Where many careers require a significant amount of time spent at a desk or in an office, HVAC technicians move to a number of different job sites and working outside. An active career conveys health benefits like better physical condition, lowered risk of heart disease, and lowered risk of type 2 diabetes.

How much does it cost to get an HVAC license in Connecticut?

The application fee for an HVAC Journeyperson in Connecticut is $90.00. The initial license fee for an HVAC Journeyperson of $120 is due after passing the licensing exam.

The application fee for a contractor’s Connecticut HVAC License is $150.00. The initial license fee for an HVAC Contractor of $150.00 is due after successfully completing the licensing exam.

All HVAC licenses in Connecticut expire on August 31 of every year. The renewal fee for Journeyperson is $120.00; the renewal fee for a Contractor is $150.00. Renewal fees can be paid online.

How to get an HVAC license in Connecticut

There are a number of institutions and programs available in Connecticut offering training in HVAC, beginning at the high school level. A selection of the options are listed below:

  • Connecticut Technical High School System (CT State Dept. of Education)
  • Penn Foster (online)
  • Entech Advanced Energy Training
  • Porter & Chester Institute
  • Industrial Management & Training Institute
  • Lincoln Technical Institute
  • Connecticut State College

Tuition costs vary depending on the school and the courses, but individual courses can start at $200, and full programs can cost $17,000. Colleges will often offer financial assistance or payment plans, while grants may also be available. High school level apprenticeships and technical classes are provided by the State Department of Education for those students interested in entering the profession at a younger age.

Courses other than those offered online will include classroom attendance and on-the-job training requirements, often with minimum prerequisite of 8,000 hours. On average, an apprentice would need to study for at least 4 years and have the suitable work experience before being able to apply for a Journeyperson license.

Connecticut HVAC Journeyperson and Contractor Licenses are issued by the Department of Consumer Protection. The required exam for Unlimited Journeyperson certification has 70 questions and a time limit of 2.5 hours; it requires a score of 70% to pass. There is a $62 fee.

The Unlimited HVAC Contractor exam has 80 questions and has a time limit of 3 hours. It also requires a 70% score to pass and has a $62 fee. A contractor also must pass the Connecticut Business and Law exam. When you’re ready to take your exams, Connecticut State Licensing exams can be scheduled at PSI Exams Online.