Louisiana HVAC License: Everything You Need to Know
Louisiana is known for its hot weather, so it is no surprise that the HVAC industry is booming. HVAC technicians earn a good pay with opportunities to
. This Louisiana HVAC license guide offers information about licensing requirements and schooling.
Do You Need a License in Louisiana to Become an HVAC Technician?
Louisiana does require HVAC technicians to have a license.
What are the Different Types of HVAC Licenses?
Louisiana HVAC License
The Louisiana HVAC license is the standard license. It allows you to work on any size HVAC unit. The salary varies on your location within the state. In rural areas, the average salary is about $35,000, but in urban regions, salaries are up to $55,000.
Louisiana Commercial Contractor License
Licensees can work on major projects where labor and materials cost
. Typically, people with a commercial contractor license work on HVAC equipment for industrial or commercial sites. Pay starts at $65,000 per year.
A NATE license is an optional HVAC license. It’s a certificate of excellence that proves you have undergone additional training. It can help you command $10,000 to $20,000 more per year.
An EPA license is a one-time license that certifies your ability to work safely with refrigerants. HVAC technicians get this license since most equipment will contain refrigerants.
Benefits of Getting an HVAC License
Possessing a HVAC license gives you credibility. It tells clients you can provide them with professional and high quality service. Once you get a license, you can set up your own business. Then, you can choose to set your own hours and work independently.
The license also helps you earn a higher salary at local HVAC companies. Additional licenses like a NATE license or commercial HVAC license can improve your salary.
How Much Does It Cost to Get an HVAC License in Louisiana?
Costs will vary. The basic test fee is $120. For the commercial contractor license, you must prove a net worth of at least $10,000 within the last 12 months.
How to Get an HVAC License in Louisiana
In Louisiana, you can pick between attending a trade school, like Ayers Career College and Unitech Training Academy, or getting an apprenticeship. Trade schools take two to four years to get a degree, and they cost about $12,000. Apprentices must possess a high school degree, be at least 18 years old, get at least two years of experience, and log 144 hours of classroom study.
After you obtain your experience and education, you can apply to take the licensing exam. The
administers the exam, and they post a list of all testing locations and times on its website. You can look at the
for preparation tips.
To get the commercial contractor's HVAC license, you have to take a different exam. Choose the general Mechanical Work Contractor exam or pick a subspecialty like heat and ventilation. Then, you will need to pass a business and law exam. The exam is an online, open book, multiple choice test that requires no registration.
Your Louisiana HVAC license expires in one year. To renew it, you must take a brief course and pay a small fee. Make sure you renew your license 30 days before expiration.
Once you’re licensed and
, you’ll need to get invoicing and estimating software that keeps track of work orders and convert estimates into one-off jobs or recurring services. We make converting estimates into jobs and recurring services easy for your HVAC business.