Idaho HVAC License: Everything You Need to Know
Working as an HVAC technician in Idaho means you'll have the opportunity to perform interesting, challenging work that helps people.
reports an expected growth rate of 15% for the HVAC industry.
In this guide, you'll find information about earning your Idaho HVAC license. Learn everything about the requirements, benefits, and costs.
Do You Need a License in Idaho to Become an HVAC Technician?
You must possess an Idaho HVAC license to perform work in the state.
What are the Different Types of HVAC Licenses?
Idaho offers four different types of HVAC licenses:
HVAC Apprentice License
HVAC Journeyman License
HVAC Contractor License
HVAC Specialty License
The HVAC Apprentice License allows you to work in the improvement, installation, alteration, repair, or extension of HVAC systems in Idaho. Licensed HVAC apprentices can only perform HVAC under the supervision of a licensed journeyman or contractor.
. These licenses can be renewed with the
. Idaho HVAC
cost $50 annually.
The HVAC Journeyman License allows you to perform or supervise the improvement, installation, alteration, repair, or extension of HVAC systems. With Journeyman license, you can work independently under the direction of a licensed contractor.
Journeyman Licenses must be renewed by paying $75 prior to the expiration date or $110 within one year of the expiration date. The average salary of an Idaho HVAC Journeyman is
The HVAC Contractor License allows you to perform HVAC services without supervision. The services offered may include installation, repair, or maintenance of HVAC appliances or gas-fired appliances,
Contractors are required to carry a $2,000 bond and must renew their licenses within one year of their expiration date or retake the contractor's test. The fee is $150 before the expiration date and $185 within two years after the expiration date. The average salary of an Idaho HVAC Contractor is $70,286.
The Specialty HVAC licenses covers certain types of HVAC work. Apprentice, journeyman, and contractor level licenses are available for the different specialties. Here are the categories:
LP Gas Limited Heating
Fuel Gas Piping
Two types of licenses commonly held by Idaho HVAC technicians include:
Individuals who work in the HVAC industry are required to earn a license from the Environmental Protection Agency. The EPA license is granted to people who demonstrate the proper level of knowledge to work with refrigerants that could damage the ozone layer of the atmosphere. The requirements of the EPA license explained in Section 608 of the Clean Air Act.
NATE certification can translate into better pay for pay. Certification is granted by the North American Technical Excellence organization and requires a demonstration of HVAC equipment and process knowledge.
Benefits of Getting an HVAC License
Getting your Idaho HVAC License gives you access to jobs and opportunities for career advancement. With a license, you're free to work on the installation, repair, and maintenance of HVAC equipment statewide. Plus, with an HVAC Contractor license, you can employ others to work for your company, thus increasing your income.
How Much Does It Cost to Get an HVAC License in Idaho?
The application and registration fees for an Idaho HVAC License vary based on the license type. Here are the fees:
Idaho HVAC Apprentice License Fee - $50
Idaho HVAC Journeyman License Fee - $35
Idaho HVAC Contractor License Fee - $35
Idaho HVAC License Renewal - $75
Idaho HVAC License Late Renewal - $110
Idaho HVAC Examination Fee, Pearson VUE - $100
How to Get an HVAC License in Idaho
If you would like to study in a classroom environment, the following institutions offer HVAC programs in Idaho:
College of Western Idaho
Eastern Idaho Technical College
Lewis-Clark State College
North Idaho College
College of Southern Idaho
North Idaho College
University of Idaho
Tuition, fees and costs vary by school and may range from $750 to more than $20,000. Typical classes in an accredited HVAC program might include:
HVAC Laws and Regulations
Gas and Electric Heating
Principles of Safe Work
Principles of Refrigeration
Green Building Practices
Principles of Heat Transfer
For more specific information about program requirements, contact the school directly. Many schools have financing options available.
HVAC Apprentice Licensees are required to prove four years in an HVAC program or work experience under a licensed HVAC technician. After completing the educational and on-the-job training requirements, you are free to apply for your license with the
. The IDBS has downloadable information about state laws and rules. You also can download the relevant license application materials from their website.
Idaho HVAC License Exams
Idaho HVAC Contractor's Exam, Open Book
Idaho Journeyman's Exam, based on 2012 Code
Idaho HVAC Journeyman's Exam Waste Oil Specialty, based on 2012 Code
Idaho HVAC Journeyman's Exam Hearth Specialty, based on 2012 Code
Idaho HVAC Journeyman's Exam Gas Piping Specialty, based on 2012 Code
You can find resources, including the
and the manual for the business and law exam at the
How Long Does It Take to Get an HVAC License in Idaho?
HVAC apprentice registration is valid for a period of five years. To register as an apprentice, you must be employed by an HVAC contractor and work under a licensed journeyman. To become a journeyman, you must work in the HVAC industry for four years or completed four years of HVAC education and working under a registered qualified journeyman licensee. Idaho offers reciprocity to license holders from others states.
Once you’re licensed and
, you’ll need to get invoicing and estimating software that keeps track of work orders and convert estimates into one-off jobs or recurring services. We make converting estimates into jobs and recurring services easy for your HVAC business.