Within the next decade, the handyman trade industry is expected to grow by as much as 8%. It is a great time to apply for a West Virginia handyman license.
Licensed handyman professionals earn livable wages and enjoy a few perks. To learn how you can benefit from these opportunities, continue reading this guide.
West Virginia does not offer handyman licenses. However, you must possess a West Virginia contractor license to work on any project that is valued above $2,500. Handyman professionals can perform minor services, such as repairing windows, patching holes in walls, and interior painting.
in West Virginia are authorized to replace and repair roofs, advertise contractor services, make structural changes to building, replace garage doors, repair steps, build driveways, supervise subcontractors, and replace siding. Applicants for a West Virginia contractor license must:
Be at least 18 years old with a high school diploma or GED.
Be a full-time employee or owner/officer/member of a company.
Register to take the West Virginia contractor exam.
Register with the West Virginia Tax Department to receive a business registration tax number.
Possess workers’ compensation and unemployment compensation for employees (business owners only).
Submit a wage bond status affidavit.
Submit a contractor license application and fee.
issues contractor licenses. Handyman professionals may be required to obtain additional permits for each job.
Handyman professionals in West Virginia earn between $12 and $30 per hour. Licensed contractors generally earn up to $95 per hour.
The cost to submit a contractor application is $90. Applicants are required to pay additional costs for bonds, tax applications, and other fees associated with applying for a West Virginia handyman license.
First, determine your license classification by contacting the West Virginia contractor licensing board. Schedule your exam and obtain a tax number and Certificate of Authority. Then, submit your application, wage bond affidavit, and application fee to the licensing board.
The West Virginia licensing board does not require contractors to take classes. However, enrolling in classes sharpens your skills and increases your value in the marketplace.
Possess a high school diploma or GED.
Be at least 18 years old.
Possess basic math, reading, and writing skills.
Replace and repair commercial and residential roofs.
Demolish commercial and residential structures.
Replace windows and siding.
Submit contract bids.
Project Management and Operations
West Virginia Building Codes
First Aid and CPR
Blueprints for Construction
Expect to pay at least $250 per credit hour at trade schools and community colleges in West Virginia. Online and classroom courses are available. Financial aid is available to students who attend accredited schools.
The West Virginia contractor examination is administered by
. Each exam costs $51.95. You can take your contractor exam at any of the designated exam centers in West Virginia. Applicants must pass a knowledge test and a business/law exam. The passing score for each test is 70%.
Remodeling and Repair
In West Virginia, laborer and management opportunities exist for handyman professionals and contractor licensees. Maximize your West Virginia handyman license with the resources below.
Contact industry colleagues to inquire about handyman and contractor job opportunities.
Advertise your services in your community.
Create profiles on job boards.
Apply for at least three jobs a day.
Send follow-up emails to hiring recruiters after you submit your resumes.
Speak clearly and concisely.
Wear professional clothing to the interview.
Arrive at the interview early.
When it comes to home renovations and repairs, customers value convenience. Some customers prefer scheduling appointments on handyman apps. Not only can they book their services within a few minutes, they can pay for their services with a credit card.
Commercial and residential renovations are on the rise. Instead of moving to new locations, many property owners hire contractors to renovate their properties.
To learn more about the latest trends in the handyman and contractor industry, you should attend trade shows. Here are a few popular trade shows for you to explore:
West Virginia has contractor license reciprocity agreements with North Carolina, Ohio, and Alabama. To obtain licenses in these states, submit an application to each state's licensing authority.
I already have a license but:
I changed my name - Contact the West Virginia licensing board to
. ($10 fee)
I misplaced the card -
. ($10 fee)
I changed my address -
. ($10 fee)
Handyman professionals who have a West Virginia contractor license must renew it every year. The renewal cost is $90. The late payment fee is $25.