Every state requires different licensing to become a handyman. We're going to uncover how to get a Utah handyman license. We'll review the requirements, costs, and industry trends.
In the state of Utah, you do not need a handyman license if the work you generally perform is under $3000 and the jobs do not include:
Soil depressurization or radon mitigation
Public’s safety, health, and welfare
If you wish to perform work over $1000 per job, you do need to:
File forms with the State of Utah Department of Commerce Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Get the appropriate amount of liability insurance (a minimum required coverage of $100,000 for each incident and $300,000 in total)
Obtain a Certificate of Workers Compensation Insurance (if you have employees)
When you fulfill these requirements, not only will you be able to perform work up to $3000, you also will fall under the categorization of "Utah Handyman License Exemption".
The Utah handyman license exemption application fee is $35. You are required to purchase liability insurance. These costs will vary depending on the coverage and the provider you choose. NEXT insurance provides liability insurance rates starting as low as $29/month. If you have employees, workers compensation insurance is also required.
Here are the legal requirements to get the handyman exemption:
You need to be at least 18 years old in Utah to apply for the handyman exemption. However, you do not need a high school diploma.
The legal minimum is $100,000 for each incident and $300,000 in total.
To work as a Utah handyman through the exemption license, you need to provide the state with your Social Security number.
Utah will not issue you a handyman license exemption if you have any outstanding fines and citations. You need to reconcile any outstanding citations before obtaining a license.
Submission of the application comes with a $35 fee. The application can be found through the State of Utah’s Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing and sent to the following address:
Heber M. Wells Building
160 East 300 South
P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741
If you plan on performing work over $1000 and receiving your handyman license exemption, you need to register your business with the State of Utah.
If your handyman business is a sole proprietorship, you will use your legal name on the application.
If you are a trust, corporation, GP, LLC, LP, or LLP, you will complete additional application fields to prove your business registration.
There isn't a requirement for on-the-job training and ongoing education.
However, if you obtain a general contractor’s license in the state, some requirements exist. A journeyman must complete a 25-hour pre-license course and a comprehensive examination to get a general contractor’s license.
One of the best resources to gain employment as a handyman in Utah is to visit KSL jobs. Employers in Utah will likely require a drug test and background check. They may ask for you to demonstrate trade competency in an interview. Employers will require you to have a valid driver's license and reliable transportation.
By joining the ranks of the handyman profession, it's important to stay aware of the latest legislative changes, technological advancements, and trade skills. Trade shows are an effective way to introduce yourself to the industry. You can meet with like-minded industry professionals as well as test new industry technology. We recommend attending the AmCon Advanced Design & Contract Manufacturing Show - Salt Lake City.
Getting a Utah handyman license can lead to a very rewarding career. You can start your own business and work in your local community.
New to the Handyman industry and looking to get licensed, or already a seasoned veteran and want to take your business to the next level? Find out more about Housecall Pro’s all-in-one Handyman Software.